Eggs

More crochet food! This was where it all started. I’d decided to crochet food for my daughter because she loves pretend food and I figured I’d start with eggs. They seemed relatively straight-forward with no sewing… I’d just finished a bunch of stuffed animals for the kids and I hate sewing pieces together.

I looked up some patterns online and started making eggs. Very shortly I realized that the eggs I’d found patterns for were too small for me. So why not make my own eggs? There are a ton of patterns for eggs online so if these are too big for you in ways that a smaller crochet hook won’t fix (I crochet pretty tightly and these are snug in the egg carton), you should have no problem finding a pattern for smaller eggs. These shape up pretty quickly.

Photobucket

Materials:

  • I used worsted weight white and tan yarn for white and brown eggs.
  • G-sized crochet hook. These are a little size-sensitive, but you need tight stitches, so you may have to play with yarn weight/hook size to get the combination you need.
  • I used polyfiber stuffing, but any stuffing will do.
  • Scissors to cut the yarn and suitable for demolishing an egg carton. This may or may not be the same pair of scissors.
  • A needle with an eye big enough for yarn.
  • Safety pin, optional.
  • An old, empty egg carton.

The eggs are worked in continuous rounds. Use a stitch marker to keep your place and move it up as you complete rows. I use a safety pin and just put it through the last stitch of a round.

Eggs
1) ch2, 6 sc in second ch from hook
2) 2 sc in each sc around (12)
3) sc in each sc around (12)
4) sc, 2 sc in next sc around* (18)
5) sc in each sc around (18)
6) sc2, 2 sc in next sc around* (24)
7-9) sc in each sc around (24)
10) sc2, dec over next 2 sc around* (18)
11) sc in each sc around (18)
12) sc, dec over next 2 sc around* (12)
13) sc in each sc around (12)
stuff
14) dec over 2 sc around (6)
join with sl st, sew closed, weave in end

Carton
If you’re making a dozen eggs (or 18 or however big your carton is), just cut off the top and front flap. If you’re making half a dozen, cut off the top and front flap and then cut out a section for 6 eggs in the middle of the bottom so it looks even.

Photobucket

12 responses to “Eggs

  1. Your eggs are so perfectly shaped! I have been trying out different patterns and on everyone the shape is just a little off. I am definitely going to try this pattern out. THanks for sharing it with everyone of us!!!

  2. I hope it worked out for you!

  3. I know I am almost a year late…but your pattern was the BEST! They turned out perfect! Thanks again!!

  4. Awesome! Thank you! 😀

  5. Pingback: Play with Your Food: 40 Free Amigurumi Patterns to Crochet Today!

  6. I totally agree. They are perfect.

  7. Perfect! I started with a 3.75/f hook and the eggs were too big. Switched to 3.5mm/E hook and made stiches snuggier and turned out perfect fit! Thanks for sharing!

  8. Pingback: Foods - Free Crochet Patterns - Crochet Tutorial

  9. Pingback: Free Crochet Food Patterns - review.daylinow.com

  10. Thank you so much for sharing the pattern! I made an Easter version with self-striping yarn, you can see pics here: http://birkenwasser.blogspot.fi/2016/03/amigurumi-easter-eggs.html

  11. Thank you Dear for the nice pattern!
    The picture of the little precious one is gorgeous, a very impressive representation of your design – Love it!

  12. Pingback: Gehäkeltes Essen / Crocheted food – Selas Gedankenraum

Leave a comment