Highland Dancer

The very first in what will hopefully be a series of dancers (although I want to do the full Nutcracker, so we’ll see)- the Highland Dancer!

I figured out how to make the plaid straight for the kilt! It’s crocheted flat as opposed to in the round, so the stitches don’t shift over. I prefer crochet skirts directly onto the dolls because I think it looks better and it’s less bulky, but you gotta do what you gotta do! Available on Ravelry and Craftsy

Pointers for those who are daunted by all of the color changes- change colors on the last part of the stitch before. So for sc, it would be, put yarn in stitch, draw up a loop, then switch colors to yarn over and draw through both loops. Also, it’s worked like intarsia- all of the dropping and picking up of yarn is done on the same side, so there will be a “right” side and a “wrong” side. The right side is the one facing out, of course.

I have an 18″ doll on her way to me. She was supposed to be delivered on Friday, but our substitute postal carriers just completely suck, so hopefully she’ll make her way here today. I think I need to do a bit of hair maintenance, and then I’ll be making 18″ doll clothes patterns.

ALSO! Today is the very last day of my Black-Small-Cyber-Whatever sale. Visit Ravelry where thanks50 gets you 50% off all patterns. ALL OF THEM!

Leave a Reply

