Baby It’s Cold

Well, actually, today wasn’t too bad. It’s supposed to get into the freezing again tomorrow, though. And do you know what I dislike making more than anything else in the crochet universe?
Mittens

and scarves.

They both just seem to go on forever without getting anywhere. BUT. I love my husband, and Mr. Craft Frog has been getting painfully cold fingers in the morning… He also, like… Okay. My hands are tiny. His hands are HUGE. He’s 6’4. Normal mitten patterns just don’t cut it. But these were hdc instead of sc, so they weren’t so bad.

AND. I made a scarf. I’ve had this chenille sitting in my stash forever. I was going to make fingerless gloves out of them, but I suspect the texture would have made me insane, so I was all, “SCARF!” My favorite scarf once upon a long time ago was chenille. It is warm and cozy, and the texture doesn’t drive me nuts there. The pattern is DEAD easy. Ready?

Take out your J-hook. ch 18. sc in 2nd ch from hook, dc in next ch. Repeat (sc, dc) pattern to end of ch.
ch 1, turn. sc in first st, dc in next st, repeat (sc, dc) pattern across row. Repeat until your scarf is as long as you want.

I like my scarf to be able to wrap completely around my neck once with both ends hanging down in front, and that used maybe… 300-350 grams of chenille? It used up all I had, anyway! And it’s a fast pattern, so it didn’t take too long.

Leave a Reply

