Accidental Vegan

Nothing crafty today, more bake-y.

Ok. So I’ve talked about my dairy allergy, right? If you’re new- hi, I’m Joy, I have a dairy allergy. Anaphylaxis (as my husband says, it’s the best kind of phylaxis!), etc.

So my love of sweet foods has necessitated a lot of my own baking because, just TRY finding things that don’t have, “MAY CONTAIN TRACES OF.” They’re out there, but… Urgh. When I wake up in the morning and go, “I WANT SOME DAMN COOKIES!” it’s easier to pop a tray in the oven than to go and spend half an hour reading labels. And muffins? GOOD. LUCK. I live in a small town in the South. I can’t even find dairy-free notcheese.

So what happens when you go through your ingredients and get to the fridge and go, “UH OH! NO EGGS!”? Side note: A lot of my inner monologue/dialogue is in caps. It really, really is. Anyway, no eggs. Do you sink to the floor, throw your hands up in the air and yell, “NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!” Well, you could. Please record it if you do.

OR. You could use egg-substitute. And I’m not talking about eggless egg powder or whatever that REAL vegans use. I am not a real vegan. I’m only an accidental vegan when my refrigerator demands it. I go to Chef in You.

You may or may not have been aware that eggs perform different tasks in different things. Apparently they do. The helpful link describes what different role eggs play in different baked goods and what you can substitute them with. Personally, I have used plant-non-specific vegetable oil in muffins (we get off-brand and it’s mostly soy with “contains one or more of the following”) and cornstarch+water in cookies- both successfully. Big note with the cornstarch! I made oatmeal cookies and the dough was quite a bit looser than I was used to. HOWEVER. They baked up just fine.

3 responses to “Accidental Vegan

  1. woodlandrealm10

    I’m also an accidental vegan because of allergies, so I feel your pain! 😀

Leave a Reply

