Mermaid

Mermaid. Right. I thought it would be kind of fun to make a bigger one, plus my daughter is WAY into mermaids… So I made one.

CD31A0D0-BFC8-11E2-B2A2-D1FFD19C4256

I was thinking about how to do her and I read Hans Christian Andersen’s “The Little Mermaid” for some inspiration. She’s described as being pale with blue eyes and a lot of hair. That’s it. So I thought about it, and my mind went through some logic. Pale skin- sure. Hardly gets any sun (before she turns into a human, that is), so I used a pale peach color (Bernat, by the way). Tail? Well, she’s supposed to have a “fish” tail. The other popular mermaid done by a certain mouse company has a green tail, but I just haven’t seen that many green fish. So I gave her a gray one. And her hair, same thing. She doesn’t get that much sun, and all hair looks darker when its wet, so I gave her black hair. I was debating doing seaweed green, but instead I figured that she could have crocheted her top out of seaweed. There’s not a lot of cotton in the ocean to make clothes from. 😉

So she’s done. I got the body finished and then the arms and I was all, “Oh, is that it?” She’s REALLY fast to do. Pattern is available on Etsy and slightly cheaper on Ravelry. And, fun fact, all of the pictures in the gallery are linked up with Craftsy, so you can find her there, too.

Right now I’m playing with intarsia. It’s kind of fun. But the next pattern I’ll be doing will be for a beaver.

Leave a comment