EYELASH YARN!

There’s been a lot of talk lately about mantis shrimp. A couple of weeks ago, The Oatmeal posted this comic about mantis shrimp and I was all, “… MANTIS SHRIMP! I HAVE TO MAKE ONE!” and I was so enthusiastic that I really was all caps lock about it.

So I started the mantis shrimp. It was… an adventure.

First of all, if you’ve never worked with eyelash yarn, it has its own particular charms. Because of the way the yarn is set up, cutting it a lot means eyelash yarn EVERYWHERE. Everywhere. Secondly, when you crochet with it the eyelashy bits that stick out from the main strand tuck themselves into your stitches. Which is GREAT fun. (I’m probably not telling the exact truth about the fun.) So you need to sit and pick out all the loops so it doesn’t look like something a cat horks up on the floor.

Before and after fluffing and trimming. It really looked like I was shaving muppets up in here.

That took a while. And because that took a while, there wasn’t really any visible progress for a while, which was frustrating to me. I don’t mind if a project takes a while, as long as it looks like I’m getting somewhere with it. Mantis shrimp looked the same for… Just under a week? That was a struggle.

But the rest of it came together quite quickly and I’m pretty happy with how it ended up! If I were to do it all over again, I would wire the walking legs and probably the maxillipeds (if not all of the upper body appendages).

B3C50DA0-ACE3-11E2-A5B2-CB65F77F0947

I used Festival Mix red eyelash yarn, which I picked up from Crochet Rendezvous. I was also looking at Ice eyelash yarn.

Pattern available on Etsy and on Ravelry.

One response to “EYELASH YARN!

Leave a Reply

