The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

Ok, I didn’t quite get a blog post in last week, but here’s one! If you follow my Facebook page, I’ve been posting pictures of my latest project, the main characters from The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. My renditions of them were inspired by the book by Frank L Baum, and the wonderful illustrations by WW Denslow.

DSCF5532

These are, collectively, my first finished project with safety eyes. I like the look of safety eyes, and they cut down on time not spent embroidering or crocheting and sewing on.

I did Dorothy and Toto first. I knew what I wanted Dorothy to look like. Silver shoes, blue stockings, blue dress. I knew Toto was a cairn terrier in the Wizard of Oz movie, but I thought he looked more like a Yorkie in the book, so I went with Yorkie. Well, as much as you can identify a dog crocheted that small as a Yorkie. Cowardly Lion was next, because I’m really not a fan of tying on hair and I wanted to get it done so it was behind me. It honestly wasn’t too bad. Then the Scarecrow. Oh, the Scarecrow. He started out looking like he was wearing a prison jumpsuit. Then I changed him a little, and he looked like a maintenance man. So if you make him, don’t be surprised if at some point, he looks like a maintenance man. I’m happy with how he turned out, but there were a few moments of, “What I am doing?” And then the Tin Woodman. Honestly, the easiest of the bunch. I was debating giving him an axe, but for most of the (illustrations from the) book, he is axe-less.

I’ve been listening to a lot of Toto while I’ve been doing this. *cough* And still, every time I think about Toto, my mind goes to, “I bless the rains down in AAAAAAAAFRICA!!!!” which is my favorite Toto song. I may or may not be listening to Toto right now. I’ll just leave this here.

Anyway. These are all available as individual patterns, and are basically buy three, get the fourth one free. Ravelry is cheaper than Etsy. The finished dolls will be for sale as well, as soon as I figure out cost and write up copy. Writing copy is one of my least favorite parts of this whole thing.

Up next. Rottweiler and then a little blue penguin (which are SUPER ADORABLE).

2 responses to “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

  1. these are adorable! Sooo cute!

Leave a Reply

