Ohai!

This post has nothing to do with crafting.

I’m still here, I promise. I’ve been letting a lot of things sort-of slide to the wayside recently (blogging and social media being among them), have you heard the analogy about the spoons? I’ve been pretty short on spoons. A super bad asthma flare comes with a lot of side-effects besides not being able to breathe very well. Loss of appetite, foggy-headedness, lack of energy, lack of physical ability… I made mention a few days ago on my Facebook page about some health issues, and I think I’ve finally gotten to the bottom of them.

I have asthma and I’ve been having a lot of issues with it recently. A whole lot of issues. Coincidentally, I have eczema that I’ve been fighting for too long now, and I decided to tackle the food sensitivities ’cause I am so over it. Cow’s milk and tomato caused me some issues in my childhood, so I figured I would cut down on them. I switched to soy milk for my coffee and haven’t had very much milk-containing products recently, until I accidentally put some cow’s milk in my coffee this morning. I figured, “Since I’ve already had some milk today, I might as well have some cheese and some pudding.”

Bad idea. My asthma flared again, pretty badly (so did the eczema, which was really starting to clear up). I didn’t think it was this bad, you know? I figured, ok I’ll have some cheese or some chocolate every now and again, maybe some pizza, and then I’ll be itchy for a day or two and it’ll be fine. It turns out it’s a lot more serious than that.

So I am looking forward to breathing better and being a little more present and able to do things. I am a big believer that your diet can affect your life in more ways than those immediately obvious ones, and I’m a little ashamed that it took me this long to figure it out. I’m excited about catching up on the housework and not having to sleep propped up and being able to do more with the kids instead of just being there while they do stuff, and the end of “taking it easy” days.

Have a glass of wine, a slice of pizza, and a chocolate bar dipped in cream cheese for me!

2 responses to “Ohai!

  1. Hope you feel better soon. 😦

Leave a Reply

