Frankenspindle

At the end of last year (early this year?) a friend gave me a gorgeous hand-dyed bundle of roving as a part of a gift swap thing. It’s been sitting in my closet since then. I no longer want it to sit in my closet. I don’t have the time to put dedicate to learn the ins and outs of another craft right now (felting) so I figured I would spin it and use it in things.

To that end, I needed a spindle. I did some research and found that I could make a drop spindle pretty easily. After talking to some people who actually spin, I figured out that I could make a low-whorl drop spindle pretty easily.


This is a low-whorl, or bottom-whorl, drop spindle. Also my hand.

Basically, it’s a stuffing stick that I got in one of my many bags of polyfiber (I have so many floating around the house right now, you have no idea) with a “whorl” (the round bit in the palm of my hand) made out of polymer clay at the bottom.

The bonus about a stuffing stick is that they already have a groove in the top. No need for wires or hooks or making grooves in the soft stuffing stick.

I went through a few sticks. First, I tried with three wooden disks glued together and nailed to the bottom. No dice. The nail split (tw0) sticks because they’re so soft. But I have a lot of polymer clay in the house, so I picked up a good chunk, made a circle, poked a hole in it, baked it, put the circle on the stick before it cooled so that it would shrink to the stick, and that’s what you’re looking at.

It’s not pretty, but I’m hoping it’ll be functional. Then I can figure out if this is something I really want to get into (and invest more time/money to get a fantastically awesome spindle) or if this isn’t something I’ll be doing a whole lot of. I do have to say, I’m looking forward to having something I can take with me anywhere without needing to take 5 skeins of wool and stuffing and scissors and a hook or two and a needle, and on and on and on.

My wool roving is currently sitting in the freezer, so actual spinning will be on hold for a few days. I found carpet beetles in it, which made me a little sad, so as soon as it is bug-free, I’ll start figuring out how to spin. I’ve been looking around on the internet, and the best how-to-spin resource I’ve found seems to be this video.

2 responses to “Frankenspindle

  1. I can’t wait to see how this turns out!

Leave a Reply

