Odin

OMG Done. OMG. It’s such a rush finishing these projects, especially the big or particularly trying ones. This was both.

I stalled out making Odin. I got halfway through him and just stopped working on him for a little while. On the plus side, I got a lot of Jagged Alliance played. *snort*

All the way through making Sleipnir, the horse, I was all, “I can’t do this. I shouldn’t have taken this on. This is too much work, too big, too everything.”

The wolves went together fairly quickly (and I’ll be getting a pattern together for them either tonight or tomorrow morning). I had some issues shaping the head and got really discouraged about halfway through and had another one of my little tantrums, but I’m pretty pleased with how they turned out. Even though the black one kinda looks like a bear instead.

The ravens… Blech. I left them until last thinking, “Oh, they’ll be so simple and go together so quickly!” They didn’t. But they got done too, and with the scale and the size, I think they’re ok.

And now photobombs!!!

All of them. Odin on his 8-legged steed Sleipnir, with his wolves Geri and Freki, and his ravens Hugin and Munin.


It was interesting trying to pose an 8-legged horse. I was going to do all the legs out on the sides, but I thought he might look a little too much like a spider.


Odin and his ravens, Hugin and Munin (thought and memory). They’ve got bent wire “feet” so they’ll stick into any of the other crocheted critters.


Odin with the wolves. Plus you can sort-of make out his braided mustache.

So he’s done. I feel like I’ve been working on him forever, and he’s finally done. We just had a baby gecko take up residence in our apartment and it it THE CUTEST THING OMG so I think I’m actually going to do a gecko next, and then my daughter’s ermplane- which will be a totally free pattern yay!

2 responses to “Odin

  1. This looks amazing! Do you have a pattern for Sleipnir?

Leave a Reply

