CAL Monkey

I joined a couple of amigurumi groups on Ravelry. I’ve been a part of a crochet group on a different community/board/whatever, but they were very interested in wearable stuff and blankets and things. They made some gorgeous work, but not really my thing, I wanted people to talk amis with. Ravelry is awesome for that.

One of the first things that came up were CALs, crochet-alongs. I’ve done a couple of quilt-alongs and I really love seeing what everyone else comes up with for the same pattern, so I figured I’d give it a go! My first one was the tiny turtle from yesterday. I wasn’t going to do another one this month, but then this little guy came up and I was all, “GEORGE!!!”

My son loves George. I think he loves George even more than he loves Elmo, which is saying a lot. So I figured I had to make it so he would have a George. The pattern is cute. If I were going to make it again, I would make the eye patches and the muzzle a little differently, with “normal” oval shapes instead of stretching out a 6st circle.


So now he has a “George Monkey” and he’s happily carrying it around everywhere. My daughter has decided that her turtle is a tortoise and she’s been carrying that everywhere with her. July CALs were a success!!

And now… Odin. Odin is going to be a very big project. I’m probably going to take a break from Odin to make my daughter a little airplane (ermplane).

Leave a Reply

