The Harrison Dollhouse, G, H, I, J, and U

That sounds like a whole lot, but it’s not. It’s the rest of the roofs and a little bit of trim (which took the longest to do with the painting and the sanding) and the chimney. There’s not a whole lot to say about this part. The directions for taping the wrong sides of the roofs together is GENIUS and it works pretty well. I kind of like the natural wood color with the other house colors, so I’m undecided if I’m going to leave the shingles unstained, or stain them like I was planning to.

The next part is probably going to take some time. I have to sand and paint every piece of trim- and there’s a whole lot of trim. And I might go slightly out of order to finish putting up the outside trim and the windows before I turn the house back around to do the inside window trim. It’s light enough to move easily, I just have such a small space to work on that it’s a bit of a pain in the butt to do. But the house actually looks like a house now, which is pretty exciting!!

Photobucket

The front of the house with the front hip roof and the front tudor trim.

Photobucket

The tower roof. One tip here, let the roof braces dry completely before gluing the actual roof pieces on. While you’re waiting for them to dry, prop them up with something- I used two of my broken shingles to hold them parallel to the top of the tower unit.

Photobucket

The side hip roof and the bay roof, and the little bit of trim pieces.

Photobucket

The chimney, all painted and glued into place.

Leave a Reply

