Micro Crochet

Apparently it’s a thing.

I really enjoy crocheting, but making miniatures is something I love. Doesn’t matter what the medium is, I love making 1/12″ scale miniatures. I’ve tried crocheting them before using just embroidery floss, but the scale was too wacky and I gave it up.

UNTIL!!! A couple of days ago, an online friend post a picture of tiny dollhouse-style doilies she’d made out of size 50 sewing thread and I was all, “AHA!” I don’t have size 50 sewing thread, but I DO have oodles of embroidery floss sitting in my closet. So I pulled out a skein, pulled it apart into three sets of two threads, and used my smallest crochet hook to make this:

Photobucket

I have some issues with him- the limbs are on a bit crooked with each other and so are the eyes. But this was mostly a, “I’m going to see if I can do this,” experiment. There will be more in the future for sure. Probably not for a little while since I’m in the middle of going through my shop. I’m also planning on making shawls and scarves and blankets and things. More stuff on my list of things I want to make. 😀

6 responses to “Micro Crochet

  1. SQUEEEEEEEEEEEE I LOVE him so stinkin' cute!

  2. Oh, he is so sweet!

  3. Thank you! 😀

  4. Aww, thanks! 😀

Leave a Reply

