Bradley

You know how you just get inspiration for things that you HAVE to make? Yesterday, I was sitting at my computer and I said, “I need to make a pancreas.”

So I went a-Googling. I knew that there was a pancreas, and the function of the pancreas, but I wasn’t actually sure what a pancreas looked like. Apparently it looks, well, like a pancreas. And it cuddles up with the duodenum. So I made a pancreas AND a duodenum.

Photobucket

This is Bradley. Bradley the Pancreas. It’s really hard to tell in the picture, but he’s winking. Next time I make him, I’ll make the face with a darker yarn- probably blue. I’ll update the picture when I make another one so it’s easier to see.

AND… If you’ve ever wanted to make a pancreas, here’s the pattern! πŸ˜€ Sewing the duodenum is a little tricky, you’ll need to sew the stoppers inside either end, about a row down from the top. If you don’t mind gluing, it would be a lot easier to glue the duodenum to the side of the pancreas. The actual pancreas part will need to be firmly stuffed too, or it won’t shape right.

Materials

  • worsted weight pale yellow, baby pink
  • G-sized crochet hook (or whatever makes tight enough stitches to keep in stuffing for you)
  • stuffing

Pancreas (stuff as you go)
1) ch 2, 6 sc in 2nd ch from hook, join with sl st (6)
2) ch 1, 2 sc in each sc around, join with sl st (12)
3) ch 1, *sc, 2 sc in next sc* around, join with sl st (18)
4) ch 1, *sc2, 2 sc in next sc* around, join with sl st (24)
5) ch 1, *sc3, 2 sc in next sc* around, join with sl st (30)
6) ch 1, *sc4, 2 sc in next sc* around, join with sl st (36)
7) ch 1, *sc5, 2 sc in next sc* around, join with sl st (42)
8-9) ch 1, sc in each sc around, join with sl st (42)
10) ch 1, *sc5, dec over 2 sc* around, join with sl st (36)
11) ch 1, *sc4, dec over 2 sc* 5 times, sc in each of remaining 6 sc, join with sl st (31)
12) ch 1, *sc3, dec over 2 sc* 5 times, sc in each of remaining 6 sc, join with sl st (26)
13) ch 1, *sc 2, dec over 2 sc* 5 times, sc in each of remaining 6 sc, join with sl st (21)
14-22) ch 1, sc in each sc around, join with sl st (21)
23) ch 1, *sc, dec over 2 sc* 5 times, sc in each of remaining 6 sc, join with sl st (16)
24-31) ch 1, sc in each sc around, join with sl st (16)
32) ch 1, dec over 2 sc 5 times, sc in each of remaining 6 sc, join with sl st (11)
33-34) ch 1, sc in each sc around, join with sl st (11)
35) ch 1, dec over 2 sc 5 times, sc in last sc, join with sl st
break yarn, finish off, sew closed

Duodenum
1) ch 12, join with sl st to form ring. ch 1, sc in each sc around, join with sl st (12)
2-36) ch 1, sc in each sc around, join with sl st (12)
break yarn, finish off

Duodenum Stoppers (make 2) and Eye (make 1 for each eye)
1) ch 2, 6 sc in 2nd ch from hook, join with sl st (6)
break yarn, finish off

Assembly
Sew one duodenum stopper inside bottom of duodenum. Fold end down to form a short right angle and sew in place. Stuff duodenum lightly. Sew other duodenum stopper inside other end of duodenum. Arrange around side of pancreas and sew in place. Arrange and sew eye onto pancreas, then embroider winking eye and mouth.

10 responses to “Bradley

  1. Love it. Pancreas is one of my favorite body parts! Although lately… a certain feline pancreas has me dollin' out the cash like you wouldn't believe…. **glare at her recently diabetic kitty** I love him anyway. But hey! I made a post on my blog about your creation here and linked it to your ravelry site! Just wanted to let you know!http://innocentdiversion.blogspot.com/2012/01/nursing-school-makes-me-want-to.html

  2. hee hee! You are quickly supplying me with all sorts of things for me to make for my sister in Med school. I can just see how her private practice office will be decorated. πŸ˜€ Thank you!

  3. Thank you! πŸ˜€ I have intentions of taking on other organs in short order too. The spleen, it calls to me. πŸ˜‰

  4. Teehee! That's awesome!

  5. think you could do a liver? i have a friend, whom i'll be making bradley and duodenum for, has a really bad pancre-ass, as she so lovingly calls it, that is so messed up it's starting to affect her liver. i told her i'd send her a fully functional pancreas and now she wants a liver too!

  6. 😦 for your friend. A liver is on my list.

  7. thank you so much! she'd love to have a fully functional liver as well! i'll be making penelope for myself seeing as i have PCOS and just making ovaries would be a bit odd, lol. i love your stuff and can't wait for the liver pattern! again thanks! and thanks for sharing your patterns!

  8. Thanks for the pattern. My husband's cousin is a Type 1.5 diabetic and has a brand new insulin pump. She mentioned that she saw a crocheted pancreas and thought it was the funniest thing ever. I need to make her one πŸ˜‰

  9. LOL I hope she loves it! πŸ˜€

  10. Made it for my friend’s skeleton, turned out well!

Leave a Reply

