Happy New Year!

It is, apparently, the new year. 2012. The Mayans predicted the start of an age of enlightenment, and I honestly can’t think of anything else the world needs more than that, right now.

I’m about to go and pour myself a cup of coffee and furiously crochet while my son sleeps and my daughter watches that infernal monkey on TV, but I’m taking a moment to update because I haven’t in a while!!

I have some plans for 2012! I’m going to get a healthier lifestyle, which will very probably have the added bonus of losing me some weight. (And no, Captcha spammers, I don’t need to “review” your crappy products in exchange for a few measly coupons. No thank you.)

I have so many ideas for things to make and do. My idea of sewing toys in addition to crocheting them has been slightly derailed, because the ideas I had were specifically for children’s toys, and the CPSC has taken a big crap all over small businesses that make things for children. It started from a good place, and in reality is *helping* the people it set out to protect us from, and is screwing over the small businesses of America. I have a lengthy soap-box-y rant about this, but I’m not going to go into it right now except to say, “SCREW YOU CPSC!”

I’m planning on that gingerbread house, probably in a couple of months. Dragons, ponies, robots… Wings and a crown for my daughter that I will be posting the tutorial/pattern on here for. And more free patterns. And more patterns for my minis. So many ideas, I think one of my goals should be to start an idea journal.

I hope everyone had a safe and happy New Year and I look forward to being creative with you in 2012!!

5 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. Good luck with your goals. I think it could be an interesting year.

  2. Thank you, Bailey! 😀 I hope it's awesome!

  3. I have been thinking about just calling my "toys" collectors items to get around any BS from the big wigs. Good luck and I am looking forward to keeping up with your endeavors.

  4. That's my plan, too. "These are very sturdy and machine-washable collectables." That type of thing.

  5. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

Leave a Reply

