Pretty Princess Footprints

Well, that’s what my daughter calls them. 😀 I don’t know if it’s just a mental block and I’m my own worst enemy, but I can shape toys… I have issues shaping things for people to wear. We woke up yesterday morning and it was 60 degrees in here and I thought, “I guess it’s time for me to make some slippers!”

Photobucket

So I found these. I went through to make the gauge swatch and the pattern suggests an F hook. I ended up using an H hook, which may give you some idea about how tightly I crochet. This also explains why people end up with super huge hats when they follow my hat pattern. (I changed the gauge to rnds for that and made it stand out more, so hopefully that’ll fix that up.)

And then I liked it, so I put a flower on it. I changed the pattern for the strap, too. I made mine 2 sc per row instead of 4 hdc, and I joined it to the inside of the slipper to start instead of making it one separate piece and then sewing both sides on.

The flower is just another one of those simple, 5-petal flowers.
ch 4, join with sl st to form ring, *sc, ch 2, dc, ch 2* five times inside ring. join with sl st

I’m not a fan of how the pattern was written. I don’t know if this is common for garmenty-type patterns- I certainly don’t remember it from my baby clothes making phase-, but the whole “continue for so many inches” thing made me :/ . I’m assuming (and I’m probably wrong) that if you have a gauge, you’ll know approximately how many rows will make up an inch. Like, if you get, say 17 rows to 4 inches, then you’re probably looking at 4 rows to an inch.

But. My daughter loves them. They’re wide enough on her little feeties that she can fit some socks on underneath them for when it gets actually cold instead of just chilly. I’m totally planning on making some for my son with little frog eyes, and some bigger pretty princess footprints for me.

Leave a Reply

