Cake Stand

Hopefully I will get my Fairy Garden up later this week, but after struggling with the base I wanted to get something else done. Plus, I can use this for better pictures!!

I made a cake stand! There are a billionty and one patterns for cakes and cookies and desserty things floating around, and I’ve only ever seen one pattern for a cake stand. So I made another one. (Of course, I’ll go to put this on Ravelry later and there will be a billionty and two patterns for cake stands.)

Photobucket

You could use either cardboard or plastic canvas to reinforce the platter (at which point you wouldn’t need to make two of the platter) or the base, but I wanted to make mine completely child-friendly and machine-washable. ‘Cause if I know my kids, I’ll introduce it as a cake stand and the next time they have cupcakes, I’ll need to get icing off of it. ๐Ÿ˜€

Mine turned out to be 7.5″ in diameter and about 3″ tall, yours may be a different size depending on weight, hook size, and how tight your stitches are.

Materials

  • light gray worsted weight
  • polyfiber stuffing
  • G-size crochet hook

Platter (make 2)
1) ch 4, sl st to 1st ch to form ring, ch 3 (counts as first dc now and throughout), 11 dc in ring, join with sl st (12)
2) ch 3, dc in same sc, 2 dc in each dc around, join with sl st (24)
3) ch 3, *2 dc in next dc, dc in next dc* around, 2 dc in last dc, join with sl st (36)
4) ch 3, dc in next dc, *2 dc in next dc, dc2* around, 2 dc in last dc, join with sl st (48)
5) ch 3, dc2, *2 dc in next dc, dc3* around, 2 dc in last dc, join with sl st (60)
6) ch 3, dc3 in next dc, *2 dc in next dc, dc4* around, 2 dc in last dc, join with sl st (72)
7) ch 3, dc4 in next dc, *2 dc in next dc, dc5* around, 2 dc in last dc, join with sl st (84)
8) ch 3, dc5 in next dc, *2 dc in next dc, dc6* around, 2 dc in last dc, join with sl st (96)
break yarn, finish off

Stem
1) ch 36, sl st to 1st ch to form ring, sc in each sc around, join with sl st (36)
2-10) ch 1, sc in each sc around, join with sl st (36)
break yarn, finish off

Base
1) ch 6, join with sl st, sc in each ch, join with sl st (6)
2) ch 1, 2 sc in each sc around, join with sl st (12)
3) ch 1, *sc, 2 sc in next sc* around, join with sl st (18)
4) ch 1, *sc2, 2 sc in next sc* around, join with sl st (24)
5) ch 1, *sc3, 2 sc in next sc* around, join with sl st (30)
6) ch 1, *sc4, 2 sc in next sc* around, join with sl st (36)
7) ch 1, *sc5, 2 sc in next sc* around, join with sl st (42)
8) ch 1, *sc6, 2 sc in next sc* around, join with sl st (48)
break yarn, finish off

Assembly
Line up and whipstitch around edges of platters, with right sides out. I also sewed platter pieces together between rows 4 and 5 for added stability. Center stem on base and sew to base. Stuff firmly enough to hold shape, but lightly enough not to bulge out of base and platter. Center and sew platter unit to top of stem.

    10 responses to “Cake Stand

    1. LOVE IT! Thanks for sharing (((:

    2. Thank you! ๐Ÿ˜€

    3. I just made it !!!!so wonderfulpictures on my website this nightmany many many thanks Joy

    4. Merci bien! I noticed that you adapted my stethoscope pattern too, yours looks wonderful- and I LOVE your band-aid!

    5. ohhhh many many thanks Joy !I love your wonderful patterns !

    6. i โ™ฅ this pattern!!!!!

    7. i only went up to row 5 and then surface slip stitched a spiral to reinforce it โ˜บ

    8. Pingback: Amigurumi Free Crochet Patterns | Crochet Tutorial

    Leave a Reply

    