Who Is That Craft Frog?

I’ve been doing this for a little over a year now and I figured I’d take some time to blah blah and tell you a little bit about me.

I’m Joy. I grew up on the west coast of Canada in a temperate rain forest. I’ve always been into crafty things and learned the basic knit stitch as well as cross-stitch as a child, but neither one really did it for me. It wasn’t until my late teens/early twenties that I really found an outlet for my crafty-ness.

A friend taught me basic crochet and I expanded on that online. I’d played with polymer clay as a child, but I started making 1/12 inch scale miniatures with it as a way to fill my time at work.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket 
Unfortunately, polymer clay miniatures require a lot of dedicated time, which I can’t do right now. I can’t even sit down through a cup of coffee, so dedicated miniature time is hopeless. When the kids get a little older, I’m hoping I’ll be able to get back into it a little more.

I met my husband online, playing WoW. We moved to Wyoming and got married and I got pregnant with my daughter. We moved to Alabama about halfway through my pregnancy and I gave birth to Rachel here.
Photobucket
She turns three in just a couple of months. She inspired me to take crochet from blankets and afghans to toys.

Shortly after she was born, I got pregnant with my son, Marcus.
Photobucket
Here he is about a month ago, he’s had a haircut since then.

So what do I look like?
Photobucket
My daughter was 5 months old and I was barely pregnant with my son, which tells you how old that picture was. I look about the same, just fatter, no bangs, and my hair goes through phases of pink, purple, and blue.

I still play WoW, I raid as a gnome priest. I read, as much as I’m able to. I got into sewing right before my son was born and I’m really enjoying it. I’m a little burned out on crochet, to be perfectly honest, which is why there haven’t been as many crochet posts lately.

It takes a lot of patience to be able to get anything crafty done around the house. They seem to materialize whenever I get started on anything.
Photobucket
From almost the time I get up in the morning until the time I go to bed, one or both of the children are up. They’re big into crafty things too. Every day, some version of the question, “Where did you put my (ruler, yarn, crochet hook, fabric, etc.)?” seems to need to be asked.

I also have two cats.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket 
Who love crafty things.
Photobucket
Photobucket

I am a stay-at-home-mom and I absolutely love it. I’m a bit of a smart-ass (better a smart-ass than a dumb-ass). I prefer pie to cake, coffee to tea, cleaning to cooking, wine to beer (although a good margarita conquers all). I love the rain, nothing makes my day like a good thunderstorm.

Leave a Reply

