WiP Wednesday!

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

Oh, it’s Wednesday. I’ve been up for a little while, thanks to my molar-cutting son. He gets teeth in groups, and the last one of the group always takes FOREVER to come through. Three of his one-year molars are through, and I can feel the last one right there… Sigh. So early starts and late nights for us!!

Sewing: I got my graph paper! I drew out a pattern that I wasn’t feeling for my Butterfly Garden, but is instead on hold for a fat quarter quilt I’ve got planned. A very, very busy fat quarter quilt with both ugly and retro fabrics. It’ll be fun. 😀

I did get a plan for my Butterfly Garden AND did some cutting.

Photobucket

It’s not enough, though. I mean, not enough quilt top. So I think I’m going to piece a border as well. I was searching around for how to make a design wall because laying out blocks on the floor… Sigh. Some quotes from this past week. “Kitty dressed. Kitty dressed Mama’s fabric. Kitty pretty hat Mama’s fabric!” The cat is very tolerant of her. My daughter loves fabric. LOVES fabric.

Photobucket

Design wall. We have these felted blankets hanging over our windows in the bedrooms. We live in an older apartment, so it helps keep it cooler in the summer and warmer in the winter. So I’m using the one in the master bedroom (where my sewing table is now set up) as a design wall!

And my bear. My bear is almost done. And by almost done, I mean I just need to add the borders, make a sandwich, quilt it and bind it. So almost done, right? 😉 I’m going to devote a whole post to it in the next couple of days, so there won’t be a picture here. One of the rows is just a little off, but I’m trying not to dwell on it. And I’m not quite sure how I’m going to quilt it…

Crochet: Absolutely nothing. Well, nothing tangible. I know what my next project is going to be (think desert) but I haven’t even started it. Since I finished my fairy wall-hanging, I’ve been trying to hard charge through getting this bear done and none of my crafty time has been devoted to crochet. It’s all designed in my head though. I should put it up next week.

And I have June’s monthly softie all planned out too. It’s going to be a big one. Not size, but there’ll be a lot to it.

Knitting: Washcloth number three is on my needles right now!! Turns out I get a little over two washcloths out of one skein of cotton yarn so I should have enough for 13. Wow that’s a daunting number all written out.

12 responses to “WiP Wednesday!

  1. YAY design wall!!! SO handy 🙂

  2. How cute about your daughter and fabric. Hey, she knows a good thing when she sees it! 😀

  3. I'm jealous of the crocheting because my carpal tunnel won't let me do it anymore and the knitting because I don't know how! Hope your design works out for your quilt!

  4. I love the floral fabrics you cut for Butterfly Garden! I've been debating getting back to knitting and crochet, but I'm not sure I could handle it alongside quilting WiPs!

  5. Bree- Right? Especially with grabby toddlers. :DLyn- That's what I said!! :DMelinda- 😦 Boo for carpal tunnel. But you can sew!! :DLaura- Thank you! I find quilting is limited to my sewing table but I can take crochet anywhere!

  6. What a smart young lady already picking fabrics out of your stash.

  7. yep, that little girl looks like she's loving it!

  8. 😀 I think her current favorite "toy" has to be my "bearic" (as she calls fabric).

  9. someone is busy helping you look through all the fabric

  10. She thinks she's helping… 😉 That's the important part!!

  11. That is really nice fabric and looks like a keen helper!

  12. Thank you! 😀

Leave a Reply

