Work-in-progress Wednesday!

I’ve started looking at blogs in the morning while I finish my coffee. I can do it one-handed, leaving me a hand to click through blogs. I can easily leave it to get up the 50 times that my children require me to whenever I sit down any time for any reason. (The only time I actually get to enjoy my coffee and sit through a full cup is when I wake up freakishly early, unable to go back to sleep. Sit through dinner? HAH!) In fact, I just got up. “Need more cereal?” from my daughter.

Anyway. Work-in-progress Wednesday.

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

A few of the blogs I follow do WiP Wednesday, so I figured I would check it out at the source and then thought… Why not? Plus, it totally makes me feel better about all of the projects I have on the go at the same time.

Sewing: Still waiting for graph paper for my Butterfly Garden. Tomorrow. Graph paper tomorrow. The attic window bear wall hanging for my husband is still sitting in a pile of uncut fabric.

Photobucket

I need to go through and cut the borders off the panel, then do some math, and hack up the panel some more. I might do that today, depending on whether or not I can safely take some batting out of my closet.

My wall hanging for me needs batting.

Photobucket

It sure is wrinkled!! At least it’s not wrinkled and covered in cat hair. That striped fabric is for the back.

Interesting note, my sewing table is now in the bedroom. I typically don’t sew at night after my son goes to bed anyway (to encourage my daughter to sleep) and it’s not so much in the way there.

Crochet: I have two more piece that I can finish without going into the closet for more yarn, and that’s including the one that’s on the hook. I’ve been procrastinating a little about doing them because I won’t be able to do any more for another day or two. Especially with crochet, when I start a project, I like to be able to thunder through to the end.

Photobucket

Knitting: On washcloth #2.

Photobucket

I’m going to write the pattern down here so that I have an easily accessible reference for it. If you’ve always wanted to try knitting, this is a super easy pattern to start with. This is not my pattern.

Cast on 4.
Row 1: knit 4
Row 2: knit 2, YO, knit to end of row.
Repeat until you have 44 stitches.
Row 3: knit 1, knit 2 together, YO, knit 2 together, knit to end of row.
Repeat until you have 4 stitches.
Cast off.

These are made with cotton yarn, which can get a bit spendy. But… Worth it. I can’t say enough good things about these wash cloths. If you use them as dish cloths, they scrub glass. I’m not kidding. Milk dried in the bottom of the glass? NOT ANYMORE!!! The first few rows don’t look much like normal knitting rows, which is one of the reasons I reknit them a BUNCH of times.

2 responses to “Work-in-progress Wednesday!

  1. Sounds like you are quite bizzy. I like the dishcloths too. I have knitted and crocheted them and they make great cleaning clothes too.

  2. I was thinking about that too, making one just to clean the house with. They're great!!

Leave a Reply

