Small Crayon

A crochet update? Why, yes it is!! For those of you not following me on Facebook, I’ll have this pattern, another one on Friday, and then I’m changing update day to Friday. Friday works better for me.

I made the huge crayon and while my daughter does play with it sometimes, I wanted to make something that was a little, well, quicker… And more hand-sized. This crayon she can grab in one hand and she’s been “coloring” in all of her books with it. I won’t let her have real crayons outside of her highchair anymore (“I drawed door! I drawed wall!”) so now she gets to use her imagination and color wherever she wants to. (“I drawed Mommy. I drawed Kitty!”)

Oh, and I made it yellow to celebrate the fact that I was FINALLY able to find worsted weight yellow! YAY!

Photobucket

Materials

  • I used worsted weight yellow and baby yellow.
  • G-sized crochet hook. It’s not the size that’s important so I’m not including a gauge. I crochet pretty tightly, if your stitches are looser you may want to use a smaller hook. The important thing is to make sure that the stitches are tight enough to hold in the stuffing.
  • I used polyfiber stuffing, but any stuffing will do.
  • Scissors to cut the yarn.
  • A needle with an eye big enough for yarn.

Crayon
stuff as you go
1) with color A, ch 2, sc6 in 2nd ch from hook, join with sl st (6)
2) ch 1, 2 sc in each sc around, join with sl st (12)
3) in back loops only, ch 1, sc in each sc around, join with sl st (12)
4) with color B, in both loops, ch 1, sc in each sc around, join with sl st (12)
5) with black, ch 1, sc in each sc around, join with sl st (12)
6-16) with color B, ch 1, sc in each sc around, join with sl st (12)
17) with black, ch 1, sc in each sc around, join with sl st (12)
18) with color B, ch 1, sc in each sc around, join with sl st (12)
19) with color A, ch 1, sc in each sc around, join with sl st (12)
20) ch 1, in back loops only *sc2, dec over 2 sc* around, join with sl st (9)
21) ch 1, in both loops sc in each sc around, join with sl st (9)
22) ch 1, *sc, dec over 2 sc* around, join with sl st (6)
23) ch 1, sc in each sc around (6)
break yarn, finish off, sew closed

Leave a Reply

