Fudgesicle

More summer treats! My daughter is a big fan of “popsicles,” which is what we call everything from fudgesicles to freezer pops.

When you crochet the base, there will be a slit for the popsicle stick to go through.

Mine came out bigger than your typical fudgesicle, but it was the only way I could think of to make it work with what I had to do with the rest of the pattern. Also, the stick looks a little frayed because someone stole it off the table before I had a chance to take a picture and put it away. There’s an action shot at the bottom. 😉

Photobucket

Materials:

  • I used worsted weight medium brown.
  • G-sized crochet hook. It’s not the size that’s important so I’m not including a gauge. I crochet pretty tightly, if your stitches are looser you may want to use a smaller hook. The important thing is to make sure that the stitches are tight enough to hold in the stuffing.
  • I used polyfiber stuffing, but any stuffing will do.
  • Scissors to cut the yarn.
  • A needle with an eye big enough for yarn.
  • Hot glue gun
  • Safety pin, optional.
  • Popsicle stick

Part of this is worked in continuous rounds. Use a stitch marker to keep your place and move it up as you complete rows. I use a safety pin and just put it through the last stitch of a round.

Base (rows)
1) ch 5, sc in 2nd ch from hook to end (4)
2-3) ch 1, turn, sc2
finish off, break yarn
2) join to 4th sc in row one, sc2
3) ch 1, turn, sc2
4-5) ch 1, turn, sc4
Do not break yarn
Put popsicle stick through slit, leaving about two inches coming out of the bottom. Glue the popsicle stick to the base on the inside.

Sides (rows)
1) without breaking yarn, ch 1, turn, sc in each sc, sc5 across side of base, sc4 across bottom loops of starting ch, sc 5 across side of base, join with sl st (18)
2-19) ch 1, sc in each sc, join with sl st (18)
stuff as you go
switch to continuous rounds
20) ch 1, *sc, dec over 2 sc* around, do not join (12)
21) dec over 2 sc around (6)
finish off, break yarn, sew closed

Photobucket

5 responses to “Fudgesicle

  1. This is really cute! I found your blog while in the process of looking up patterns to make play food for my daughter's kitchen. thanks for posting!

  2. Looks like a dark colored Corn dog! But, actually, it's musical instrument! See how she's playing it? LOL

  3. LOL That's what my husband said it looked like when I first made it; a corn dog. But it's something on a stick, a the kids LOVE things on sticks. 😀

  4. I am a girl who loves to crochet. I crochet anything, your blog has helped me so much! Thank you for posting so many cool patterns.

  5. Pingback: Foods - Free Crochet Patterns - Crochet Tutorial

Leave a Reply

