Banana

Please note that this pattern was done using sport weight and so isn’t in ratio with the rest of the fruit. I made a new pattern that is, that can be found here.

I got stuffing! Yay! This was a fun one to make, my daughter identified and said her very first colour- yellow! Awww…

Anyway, this took quite a bit of fussing around with to make so that the curves were even on both sides and everything. I was shocked with how quickly the second half came together, considering how long I’d spent on the first. If the scale seems a little off between this and some of the other food, it’s because I used sport weight instead of my standard worsted weight. That’s the only yellow they had!

Photobucket

Materials:

  • I used yellow sport weight.
  • G-sized crochet hook. It’s not the size that’s important so I’m not including a gauge. I crochet pretty tightly, if your stitches are looser you may want to use a smaller hook. The important thing is to make sure that the stitches are tight enough to hold in the stuffing.
  • I used polyfiber stuffing, but any stuffing will do.
  • Scissors to cut the yarn.

The entire pattern is worked in rows.

Banana (make 2)
1) ch 6, sc in 2nd-6th ch from hook (5)
2) ch 1, turn, 2 sc in first sc, sc3, 2 sc in next sc (7)
3) ch 1, turn, sc6, 2 sc in next sc (8)
4) ch 1, turn, 2 sc in first sc, sc7 (9)
5) ch 1, turn, sc8, 2 sc in next sc (10)
6) ch 1, turn, sc in each sc (10)
7) ch 1, turn, sc9, 2 sc in next sc (11)
8) ch 1, turn, sc 9, dec over 2 sc (10)
9) ch 1, turn, sc 9, 2 sc in next sc (11)
10) ch 1, turn, sc9, dec over 2 sc (10)
11) ch 1, turn, sc9, 2sc in next sc (11)
12-17) ch 1, turn, sc in each sc (11)
18) ch 1, turn, sc9, dec over 2 sc (10)
19) ch 1, turn, sc9, 2 sc in next sc (11)
20-24) ch 1, turn, sc in each sc (11)
25) ch 1, turn, sc9, dec over 2 sc (10)
26) ch 1, turn, sc9, 2 sc in next sc (11)
27-32) sc in each sc (11)
33) ch 1, turn, sc9, dec over 2 sc (10)
34) ch 1, turn, sc9, 2 sc in next sc (11)
35) ch 1, turn, sc9, dec over 2 sc (10)
36) ch 1, turn, sc9, 2 sc in next sc (11)
37) ch 1, turn, sc9, dec over 2 sc (10)
38) ch 1, turn, sc in each sc (10)
39) ch 1, turn, sc8, dec over 2 sc (9)
40) ch 1, turn, dec over 2 sc, sc7 (8)
41) ch 1, turn, sc6, dec over 2 sc (7)
42) ch 1, turn, dec over 2 sc, sc3, dec over 2 sc (5)
43) sc in each sc (5)
break yarn, finish off
sew together, stuffing as you go
Stem
1) ch8, join with sl st to make ring, sc in each ch around, join with sl st (8)
2-6) ch 1, sc in each ch around, join with sl st (8)
7) ch 1, dec over 2 sc around, join with sc st (4)
break yarn leaving enough tail to sew, sew closed, weave in end
stuff lightly, sew to top of banana

Depending on how stiff your stem is, it may not require stuffing. I stuffed mine with the help of my crochet hook. My husband took one look at the finished banana and said, “Shouldn’t the stem be brown?” So you may want a brown stem instead.

3 responses to “Banana

  1. Thanks for the great pattern! I've been looking for crochet food patterns for my pre-k class dramatic play center. Cheers!

  2. Yay! I hope your class enjoys it! I have a whole bunch of food on here (both healthy and non-healthy 😉 )

  3. I cannot thank you enough! I was looking and looking for a banana pattern that I could use to make a pillow.

Leave a Reply

